3 thoughts on “Personal space

  1. I read on your post that you create and sell ‘wrap dolls” the dolls that you are creating come from a long tradition of Africans who endured the hardship of slavery. when you sell and create these dolls please reference them as African Wrap Dolls African Americans have lost much of our history and traditions by folks not giving it the proper name and/or title it deserves.

    1. Thanks for that observation, Debra. I FEEL THE SAME WAY. IT’S BEEN QUITE A BIT SINCE I’VE EVEN MADE ANY. BUT, PLEASE REST ASSURED THAT THE ONES I SOLD, (MAINLY TO FOLKS I KNOW), WERE DEFINITELY MADE AWARE OF THE ORIGINAL dOLLS, and how I got the idea in the first place.
      I’d gotten the idea from HGTV, I believe in mid-nineties.

      Wrap Dolls,
      Episode CDS-426
      Artist and doll maker Angela Briggs makes dolls that originated during the time of slavery.

      It was an awesome show, and I was very taken with Ms. Biggs. Thus the idea that I make my own version, with attention being paid in my cases, to the person I was making it for. Also please note some reply in caps. It’s because my eyesight isn’t great anymore. I am almost 70, so, I suppose that it comes with age. 🙂
      I mean no offense. Thanks again for your kind reply.
      Sincerely,
      Laura Mancuso
      Pasadena, TX.

    2. Oh never worry . I am proud of what I tell folks. Ms Angela Biggs did an excellent piece on HGTV
      More than 20 yrs. Ago. I never fail to mention the wonderful job she was doing with the REAL AFRICAN WRAP DOLLS. Mine are made from bits and pieces and I learned how to wraps with yarn from watching the video.

Leave a comment